Mission Mammoth

Max and 99

Snag the Tag and Shop Geocaching

partner for Mission Mammoth!

Are you new to Snag the Tag? Snag the Tag is a trackables game that relies on hiders and finders! Join the hunt from March 18 - April 30 to play Mission Mammoth! The game is simple, purchase a hiding packet that includes a complete set to keep (mammoth tag and museum geocoin) and two mammoth tags to hide. 

Follow the instructions that come with the hiding set and make sure to hide the trackable before the game begins on March 18. When someone finds one of your mammoths, they can claim it as their own and even get the matching museum geocoin to keep!

57 minutes ago, Max and 99 said:

I'm new to this game and learning! But it kinda sorta seems to me that I'd be the one "paying" for the "free" coin someone gets when they find the tag that I paid for!

Does anyone else have experience with this game?

This is all new to me - and apparently it is a different website, a different game, and not connected to geocaching, except that you can buy these "kits" to hide things at the geocaching shop.  If I'm reading the rules correctly, if you are a "hider", you can't be a "finder" for each specific game?  https://www.snagthetag.com/faq.php  Each "game" is for a limited time - you have one hider and one finder for each tag, and the finder is supposed to get some sort of prize.  But what's in it for the hider?  I'm not sure I really understand this new game....or what is has to do with geocaching??

The person who finds the tag that I hide gets to keep that tag, PLUS gets a free geocoin from Shop Geocaching. But for the $30 I pay (plus shipping) to get the tag, it feels to me like I'm the one paying for the other person's "free" geocoin that Shop Geocaching sends to them. But then again, I'm still trying to figure it all out.

I see no benefit to the hider. Only expenses and work.

• Upvote 5
6 hours ago, Max and 99 said: