Firefox/GS no good for PQs -part2

Rustynails

Once again I try downloading a PQ from GS email and more problems. When looking at what recently downloaded, I see the file has now listed as something called compressed GPX. I tried loading this to my gps but it won't work. So firefox is no good for pqs. I go back to Internet Explorer and download with no problems and get standard GPX.  I now have gpx files in my garmin that work.

Is there anyway to fix firefox or GS email so I get standard gpx files instead of compressed ? GS doesn't want people to use IE but it's the only way to download workable gpx file. I haven't changed anything since last week when I got standard gpx. I'm not a computer expert, so please me nice.

Once again, firefox is NOT broken and as good as any browser for PQs.

What is the file you downloaded? It should be a ZIP file (123456.zip) containing 123456.gpx and 123456-wpts.gpx (the 123456 is an example) Both should be placed on your GPX.

Doubleclick on the ZIPfile will get you the 2 files, I suspect you didn't "unpack" the zipfile and just put the zipfile on your GPS and that doesn't work.

• Helpful 2
Just now, rustynails. said:

Like I said before I get View results and Download now
when opening GS PQ email. When clicking download  I only see a white screen.  Then looking at recent downloads I now see a compressed gpx instead of the standard gpx file.

Doubleclick the downloaded file. You'll get the 2 gpx files you need.

Compressed= zip file

• Helpful 2

If you're using MS Windows, then it might help to change the filesystem explorer to stop hiding the file extensions of known file types. That way you can easily tell the difference between 123456.gpx and 123456.zip and 123456.htm and 123456.doc and 123456.txt and so on.

• Upvote 1
  • Helpful 1