Logging GCs multiple times - DIY system for kids school runs etc?

BethDaddyKaty

Hi all,

Hope you are well.

Me and my daughter really enjoy geocaching - however, at five years old, we do a lot of journeys the same, e.g. school run, cycling to the shops, etc.

Beth wants to find all the geocaches every single time which is fine and we pretend to "write" in them. However, obviously (correctly) she can only get a smilie face once.

I was wondering what etiquette would be for writing my own program (I'm a web developer) and attaching a QR code to my own Geocaches that could be scanned so she could unofficially log GCs multiple times? My plan would be to link it in with her Fitbit badges so the more Geocaches she collects, the more badges she gets.

I would possibly (depending on GCs terms) also tell her school friends about it if they want to join (because being 5yo, otherwise she'll tell them anyway).

Would love to hear thoughts. Not sure whether the QR code needs to be labelled so regular GCs don't wonder what it is for. Just know it's great to get kids out, my 5yo happily does long walks if she knows there are multiple GCs on route but I don't want to have to drive every single day to find new GCs to do it.

Thanks in advance.

Edited by daddybeth

I don't see a problem with including something like that in your own geocaches, and it would probably be a good idea to label the QR code so others know what's up. I think about the way trackables are labeled (both those that are intended to move and those that are intended to stay in the cache for people to discover). I also think about the way stamps have been labeled in letterbox hybrid caches, or the way stamps have been labeled in a local series where finders can collect stamps on their "passports", and then turn in a fully stamped "passport" for a geocoin created for the series by the open space district.