Mystery Cache

FshngGC

I am preparing a mystery cache.  In order for the cacher to find it they will have to find three other caches.  I am planning on placing these caches in the list as Traditional Caches, as each will have it's own log sheetand it's own entry on geocaching.com.  However on the back of each log sheet will be one of three parts of the answer to a "riddle"  that will be asked in the mystery cache.  I believe that these should be listed as four separate caches.  I have been told by a fellow cacher that I presented it to that it should be placed as a multi-cache but I disagree.  However, I have no experience with placing either a mystery cache or a multi cache and would appreciate any feed-back.

16 hours ago, FshngGC said:

I have been told by a fellow cacher that I presented it to that it should be placed as a multi-cache but I disagree.

Your fellow cacher is correct to some extent, in that you have the option of making this one multicache with up to three visible stages and one hidden, final stage that requires solving a puzzle to get the coordinates.  You could even just have the first stage visible and require finders to solve puzzles to reveal each subsequent stage; this is why the "field puzzle" attribute exists.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQUzB6CFO94N3ufFx402Ev

Or, you have the option of placing three traditional caches and a fourth bonus cache, as nariD discusses.

23 hours ago, FshngGC said:

I have been told by a fellow cacher that I presented it to that it should be placed as a multi-cache but I disagree. 

Multi-cache is allowable option only if the riddle is possible to solve on-field by reading the cache description. Research that goes beyond reading the cache page is always a mystery cache.

More info here: https://www.geocaching.com/help/index.php?pg=kb.chapter&id=127&pgid=559

Edited by arisoft
  • Upvote 1