Inaccurate TB counts in Caches

Raider74

I'm fairly new to geocaching and have discovered that many times a cache lists a TB in it, but when we find the cache it is empty.  We recently found a TB hotel that listed 9 in the inventory, yet not a single one was actually in the cache!  We have come to realize that most of the times the inventory list is inaccurate and we count it as a pleasant surprise when we find a TB.  However... my question is this... is the CO the only person who can mark TB's as missing from their caches to update the inventory?  Wouldn't it make more sense for anyone who finds a cache to be able to update the TB count?  Or to mark TB's missing?  Wouldn't that make TB inventory counts more accurate?  Just simply wondering...  :)

1 hour ago, Raider74 said:

is the CO the only person who can mark TB's as missing from their caches to update the inventory? 

Wouldn't it make more sense for anyone who finds a cache to be able to update the TB count?  Or to mark TB's missing? 

Wouldn't that make TB inventory counts more accurate? 

The trackable's Owner can mark it missing too, and (I feel) they should be the first to do so,  but many don't. 

I believe some may think it'll magically pop up the minute they do, not thinking that one can simply "Grab" it to be back in play. 

Others,  the Owner may be long gone from the hobby.

We've used ammo cans the last couple years.  When we check (during maintenance) of someone with a "no trackable" in their log,  more than half the time the trackable's still there.   Buried in "stuff", or stuck to something ... they miss it. 

- I'd prefer someone not paying attention didn't have that kind of access to my cache page thanks. 

I like to keep things accurate.

There is a program that "fixes"  incorrect trackable inventories based on an algorithm.  IIRC, the site's only used it once so far. 

If people would log trackable actions accurately there'd be no need for such a thing.   Good luck with that...

• Upvote 1