Garmin E-trex setup

Hi all,

I'm new to the Geo-Caching world and only came across it whilst listening to a conversation between other people.

I have an old Garmin E-trex. Dunno what model it is, it has 12 channel GPS printed on the front of it.  I used to use it with the Ordinance Survey maps in the UK a very long time ago, so have it set up to use the British Grid system.  I notice most of the caches are listed in the other grid system.  Is there a forum post that will tell me what to set the E-Trex too to be able to use it with Geo-Caching.com.

thanks 

Oz 

Just load the geocaches onto your unit. There is no need to change your settings.

Data files (geocaches, waypooints, etc.) and the unit itself are internally using the decimal degree lat/lon format (ie: 42.12345, -1.2345). The Garmin unit itself translates those coords to show you coords as OS coords in the display.

Hans

• Upvote 1
52 minutes ago, HHL said:

Just load the geocaches onto your unit. There is no need to change your settings.

Data files (geocaches, waypooints, etc.) and the unit itself are internally using the decimal degree lat/lon format (ie: 42.12345, -1.2345). The Garmin unit itself translates those coords to show you coords as OS coords in the display.

Hans

thats good to know, now i have to turn my home upside down to find the cable or search the web for a replacement.

1 hour ago, HHL said:

Hans

How does one load a geocache into the old yellow eTrex with the funky proprietary cable?  First problem is finding the cable, second a PC with a serial port. Then one has to find legacy software that supports the pre USB Garmin device.  I never had a Yellow eTrex but I did have 12 channel Garmin of a similar vintage.  The only practical way to get a waypoint into the device was to mark a waypoint and edit the coordinates to the desired value.  Your post suggests I missed an easier way to get the waypoint into the GPS.