DiveCaching

K!nder

Hi you all,

i have a doubt about scuba diving geocaches. I got my Open Water Certification so i will start doing some scuba dives. So i was wondering if there were many caches of this type. I have seen quite a few already. But then i though that in the few dives i already performed i have found some pretty interesting places, so why not identificate one or two with a geocache?

But then it came to my mind that i don't want to contribute to the deterioration of the ocean/sea. So no plastic containers will be used, and then i though maybe a ceramic container will be fine for the job. But i am not an expert in ocean life so i don't know if it will harm the sea or not.

Anyone can help me with that? Is there any type of container that can be left in the ocean without any problem? What is your thoughs about this topic.

Cheers,

K!nder aka André

There are a few ways to do dive caches, and they all have challenges.

If you don't want to leave plastic in the ocean, you could have them get information from an underwater location (the number on a bell, or how many windows on the ship, etc), and then use that to calculate a final location on land.

In general, if you leave something in the ocean, it is going to become part of the ocean, and sea life may grow on it, live in it, etc.

Buoyancy will be an issue, as well as water resistance.  If you put a container of 'air' down there, it will likely float and leak.  Is the diver expected to bring it to the surface to open it?  It is still going to get water in it, and someone will probably try to open it underwater.  But as a diver, depending on the depth and placement, it may not be safe or advisable to bring it up and take it back down (consider your dive tables).  Or you can make your placement part of the wet environment (such as a dive slate only).   Either way you are adding to the environment.