Need some help.....I am a newbie

Brutalfly

I honestly don't know where to start. I was talking to somebody last night and they mentioned GeoCaching in our conversation. 
Honestly I did not know what it was just heard the term a couple times before. 
I got to researching it and found out that it is a pretty neat thing to be doing.
So it got me thinking.
How do I get started and what type of GPS thing would be good?
I think it would be great to get my kids involved with and start with the easier cach and move to the harder ones when they get older.
They might come to really enjoy it and I think that it could be something our family would really enjoy. We are outside a bunch and love to travel. 
The bad thing is that I am on a very tight budget so when it comes to the GPS tracker I don't know what I should get. 
Do you guys have any advice?

You can get started for free.  Go to the Play Store on your smartphone (I'm going on the assumption you have one) and download the free Geocaching app.  And here's a link for some more helpful information to help you understand the ins and outs of the game.  Also be sure to check out the Help Center for much more detail.

https://www.geocaching.com/help/index.php?pg=kb.chapter&id=102

10 hours ago, Brutalfly said:

I honestly don't know where to start. I was talking to somebody last night and they mentioned GeoCaching in our conversation. 
I got to researching it and found out that it is a pretty neat thing to be doing.
So it got me thinking.
I think it would be great to get my kids involved with and start with the easier cach and move to the harder ones when they get older.
They might come to really enjoy it and I think that it could be something our family would really enjoy. We are outside a bunch and love to travel. 
The bad thing is that I am on a very tight budget so when it comes to the GPS tracker I don't know what I should get.