Pimping my waymarks

I'm trying to pimp my waymarks, because I want to increase their overall quality - at least a little. I will start with my oldest waymark and once I'm completely satisfied with it, I will change all the others one by one.

One thing I want to change: Every waymark should have a long description in the local language first and the English text after that. I haven't yet decided whether all titles should either follow the same pattern (local language title / English title), or just have an English title or just the local title. The short description will always be local and English language. I've seen that many waymarkers have their own system (sometimes it's just the two languages separated with a " / ", sometimes there is also "DE", "FR", "EN" etc. in the short description to make it easier to find the desired language.

The other thing is: The long description should have a little more color. As I'm not very good at HTML, CSS and all that I "borrowed" some code here and there. The local text has a red border/background and a flag of Germany and Austria for the German text and blue border/background and flag of USA and UK for the English text.

If anybody has any advice as to what I should or shouldn't do to make them look even better, I would be very grateful.

Also: I created an unfinished waymark and uploaded these two flag image files. Since I don't have a website where I could store these images, I thought that this would be the best thing to do. As far as I know Images can be called with different URLs and I'm not sure, if https://s3.amazonaws.com/gs-Waymarking-images/36a32ac9-6a31-41bb-9b26-caabe6e5c2bc.gif is the best choice. Again, every advice is highly appreciated.

Andreas

• Upvote 1

A great idea, but don't forget that quality is determined by content. The researched and presented information and the pictures do make the value of a waymark. Bells and whistles are fine, but only when the rest is worth it.