How do I set up a private trail?

maxfrost0606

I am totally new to geocaching but it seems to me it could be exactly what I'm looking for.  In December we will be celebrating a special family event at a secret location. I don't want my kids to know where they are going until they get there and I thought geocaching might offer the perfect solution.  The hotel is a couple of hours drive away from home and I thought I could leave a series of caches (waypoints?) so that each would lead to the next until they arrive at the final destination. In this way I'm hoping I could stop them guessing the final destination and have fun.  My kids are all young adults and far more tech-savvy than I am and I think geocaching would really appeal to them.  My wife and I could easily leave an hour or two ahead of them so we would have time to lay a trail but I don't want to have to make a special trip to the hotel and back on a different day (which I think I would have to in order to achieve a 'reverse' trail).  Any ideas how I could make this work?

Your idea is great about using waypoints to take the kids along the route, however Geocaches need to be in place before submitting for review and would be live for everyone to see.

Once live, you will end up with a bunch of extra guests at your "Special Family event".

I think what you may want to do is sent them on a private scavenger hunt using paper clues, sorta like what the amazing race does.

Leave an envelope on your counter with a clue to the next location, so drive to Chucks lunch house and look in the pine tree, you drive ahead and hide the next envelope in the pine tree at chucks leading to the next clue Etc Etc.

This will require you to pre-plan the stops.

The other way to do it is a texting scavenger hunt. (I have did this before and it worked great )

Leave a note saying when everyone is ready to go, text a photo of everyone in the car