Geocaching Meetup

WNCMama

I'm quite new to geocaching (only 22 smileys so far), but I am crazy about it! There is not a geocaching Meetup in my area yet, but a little bit of interest. I'd love to organize a gathering, but I have some questions.

What do you do when you gather with other geocachers? I'd like ours to be family centered as I have a tween and 2 small children. Do you search for caches together? Just meet to talk about geocaching? Some of both? More?

I appreciate any input!

I must admit, compared to others in this  forum, I am pretty inexperienced myself (only 207 finds) and I've only been to 1 event. However, I've been looking at events near me (wishing I could go) for a very long time. And I can tell you what they had planned.

- some meet at a nice bicycle or walking trail and do a planned walk/ride.

- some reserve a picnic shelter at a park and use the BBQ grill for burgers and food. 

- some do a CITO (Cash In Trash Out) where they all bring a garbage bag with them and pick up litter in a certain area while they are also looking for geocaches.

- some meet at a body of water (lake, river, etc) with canoes, kayaks, rowboats or whatever they've got and do a big paddling convoy

- some meet at a pub or winery and taste local beers or wines

- some organizers plan way ahead of their event/gathering and hide several caches for the attendees to find (the organizer should commit to maintain these caches for at least several months after the event so other folks can also enjoy them)

- some organizers just select a location for their event that already has several caches nearby, and attendees of their event meet up and go find those.

At any or all of these meetups, cachers can talk, share stories about caching, the veteran cachers can teach the newbies, those who also participate in the Trackables side game can trade and share their trackables.