Grabbing TB - etiquette

paperRose

I am new to all this, so I try to follow the advice I read online.
One of the things I read about Travel Bugs is to log them as soon as possible. Today I found one, but it was not listed as being in the cache. In fact, there had been no activity in over two months. After about an hour I grabbed it from the other user and logged it. Now I have an annoyed message from said user stating that I have shown bad manners in not giving them a chance to log the bug.
What are the accepted rules here? Should I wait before logging if it is not logged to the cache? If so, how long?

Thanks for teaching a newbie some etiquette!

I'd say forget about it.  :)  

The last person has held onto it since June 2nd.    No mention on the trackable page why.  Some would think they stole it...

Today they finally log it into a cache that you just happened to visit afterwards.

They're upset with you, like you should know what the heck they were doing to do?     Weird.

In the Help Center on trackables, it does say, "If you pick up a trackable that is not logged into the inventory of the cache you find it in, be considerate and give the person who left it there a few days to post their log online. This lets them complete their part of the trackable's journey, and keeps the trackable's travel record accurate".

- So you could have looked at the log, to see if names jive with the trackable page, but I'd probably just log it same as you.

As to the "few days" thing, I'll sometimes look to see if they log any finds.  If they can log finds, they can log trackables...

Thank you for correcting the trackable's movement after they grabbed/dropped from you.   :)

Edited by cerberus1
  • Upvote 1