Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
LyleCrumbstorm

Extremely Difficult Caches?

First, I apologize as I am a noob and I am confident this question has already been asked and answered but I cannot find it.

I just joined yesterday and as soon as I opened the map of caches the first thing I noticed is that they were all in easy to access locations. I was hoping for some that would take me deep into the wilderness here in Colorado, off trail and perhaps pose some real challenges. I'd like to hike out into the middle of the Arapaho National Forest or the Weminuche - or anywhere, with overnight gear prepared for a few days of physical challenge. Living in Colorado I have to presume there is a version of this activity that could result in death. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thank you in advance.

You may only be seeing what's shown to non-paying members; which on a smartphone app, is T 1 (wheelchair accessible) and T 1.5 (stroller accessible).

You may to log out and log back in again for the site to see you as having paid.

What you want will be indicated with higher terrain ratings; likely T3 and above. Those caches certainly exist. T5 caches that require technical climbing gear and skills. As a Premium Member, all caches are available to you.

You can use several types of search to find what you want. Scrolling on the Geocaching.com Map of an area, Pocket Queries, asking for caches in Colorado with T3.5 on Search and higher, etc.

This looks interesting in the Arapaho National Forest - Earthcache T5

Edited by palmetto

Thank you.

That link you provided is definitely more challenging than most I've seen but still right on the side of a trail. I set my Terrain to 5 and there is nothing in the middle of wilderness areas. Are there rules against making a cache somewhere in the middle of nowhere? (I'll start my research now...)

[Edit: I see your links to the Listing Guidelines and The Groundspeak Help Center now.]

Edited by LyleCrumbstorm