Hey all, I'm new! (And looking for tips//advice.)

The_Bec

Hello, everyone! My name is Becca, and I'm new to Geocaching! I've known what it was for a while, but I finally decided to take the plunge and check it out myself! I haven't found a cache, yet, but I'm itching to get out there!

While I have the technical idea of how to geocache, I'm sure there's a lot I still don't know or understand. I'm wondering if anyone has any tips or tricks for new Geocachers.

I'm also curious how you all meet each other and get together for some caching! I live in Greene County, NY, which is is fairly rural, and I have yet to locate a local group.

Any tips or advice would be great. Pleasure to meet you all, and I look forward to getting to know you!

A common recommendation for beginners is to stick with small small.gif size, regular regular.gif size, and large large.gif size caches. Until you're more experienced, avoid micro micro.gif size caches, some of which are smaller than most beginners can imagine (sometimes called "nanos"). Save those for later, after you have some experience.

Also, stick with caches that have a difficulty rating of no more than 2 stars stars2.gif. Save the more difficult ones for later. You may also want to choose caches with easy terrain ratings. (The difficulty rating tells you how hard it is to find the cache once you get there. The terrain rating tells you how hard it is to get there.) And it is often best to start with traditional 2.gif caches, which will be at the published coordinates. Multi-caches 3.gif or mystery/puzzle caches 8.gif or other cache types can require more work just to figure out where the container is located.