Garmin Etrex 30

Gatwick Girl

Hi all,

I have been using my Garmin Etrex 30 for about two years now, simply by downloading caches as .GPX files from the Geocaching map page via a USB cable. This has always suited me fine as I can plan a particular route or individual caches I want to do in advance. However, I've noticed a few times I've got out into the field, my Garmin doesn't recognise the caches that have been downloaded.

For example, this morning I downloaded three caches (which were close together) on to the Garmin, and 30 minutes later I'm out at GZ for the first one ready to search. The Garmin tells me there's no caches there. When I get home and try to download the caches again, the Garmin tells me that the file already exists and do I want to replace it? So the files are definitely there but just won't show when I need them to.

Just to clarify, this only happens sometimes so I don't know if it is an intermittent fault with the Garmin, or whether there's something obvious that I can do to avoid wasting my valuable caching time....!!

Thanks in advance!

Assuming that you have not loaded more gpx files than the etrex 30 can handle (2000?) and that the files were completely transferred to the unit without an error, then the first thing that comes to my mind is indexing. I do not have an etrex but with other Garmin units I have had occasional problems with files not being indexed. In other words, I have loaded a gpx file into the Garmin but when I go out into the field the cache data is missing even though the file is there. It might be similar to what you report.

This problem can be corrected on a computer (or other device that shows the file structure on the Garmin). Delete (or move) the gpx files on the Garmin. Turn the unit off and on again. Restore the files. When the unit is restarted after the files have been replaced, it will reindex them and they should all be there.