+barefootjeff Posted January 13, 2017 Share Posted January 13, 2017 While skimming through the Help Centre looking for something else, I came across page 4.15: Change a listing after publication. This now divides changes into Minor and Major, with the following text about major changes: Major changes can alter the geocaching experience and are discouraged. You must get approval from a volunteer reviewer before you make major changes. Without approval, your cache may be archived. Major changes include •Difficulty and terrain rating •Time, date, or location of your geocaching event I know changing D/T ratings can upset finders' statistics and mess with challenge qualifications, but on the other hand I thought the D/T was supposed to accurately represent the cache. For common-as-mud D/T combinations like 1.5/2, I've sometimes bumped the difficulty up half a notch if it's proving harder for people to find than I expected, and likewise terrain can change over time if a cleared track becomes overgrown or vice-versa, a tree or rock fall blocks easy access or a road or bridge is opened or closed. Isn't keeping the D/T rating up to date one of the owner's responsibilities? Is this requirement to get reviewer approval to make such changes something new, and if so, shouldn't the UI be changed to only allow reviewers to do it, particularly when the penalty for doing it without approval is archival? The bit about events is also disconcerting. I recently had to postpone an outdoor event due to inclement weather, so just posted an announcement and changed the date field on the cache page. Such postponements can happen at relatively short notice and there may not be time to get reviewer approval. Quote Link to comment
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.