Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
zach.ruesch

Boys and Girls Club

Folks,

I am a teacher at a public school in Wisconsin and a staff member of a Boys and Girls Club. As such, I seek to incorporate geocaching as an opportunity to teach content knowledge, reinforce positive behaviors, and help create better aware and involved people. Too, exposure to geocaching creates potential future customers for Groundspeak. However, I have trouble gathering resources and supplies to be successful, especially at the Boys and Girls Club. Recently, I posted in the forums seeking donations (unknowingly in violation of guidelines). I am a supporter of structure; however, I feel the benefits of such outweigh the detriments, no matter the hassle.

1. Would you support a forum here dedicated to such endeavors related to donation and charity requests? Please explain your rational. I encourage you to contact Groundspeak and express your perspective, whatever it may be.

2. How do you go about gaining access to the tools necessary for multiple, relatively large-scale operations?

3. How do you structure your classes/activities?

The Boys and Girls Club I am involved with, has an account. I plan to use this account to post our group visits to local caches, but too, I hope to have the kids create and place caches through this account as well.

4. Have you done any relatively large-scale placements over time?

5. How do you organize such efforts?

Please feel free to creep my Geocaching profile. You'll find a link to my professional website (under construction) and email.

Edited by zach.ruesch

What follows is what I wrote to Groundspeak following the removal of my posts:

Geocaching Donations 23 JUN 2016 (0915)

As I write this, I fear I will receive a standard, basic response, personalized to me. My frustration with legal limitations and corporate process will be reinforced once more. I am all for structure, but from my perspective, it does harm.