Using compass coordinates: clueless me rank beginner

lahoare

Hi. Please take pity on me. I only found out that geocaching exists two days ago. I downloaded the app and went to the nearest cache near our house. The problem is I have NO CLUE how to use a compass. I downloaded two different compass apps on my iPhone 5, and also used the one in the Geocache app. I am an older woman trying to encourage myself to get exercise and this sounds like fun. I have a PhD, so I like to think that I'm not entirely stupid (although that could very easily be wrong :rolleyes: ). However, stupid or not I ended up very close to the place, my phone said 'start looking' but then I got entirely confused about the numbers in the commas points. This is REALLY basic 101 stuff but:

What do the numbers actually tell you - like are you looking for where those two points intersect?

How do you find them, I just ended up walking around in circles, not because I was trying to find the cache but because I was trying to align my body and iPhone with the compass points. People clearly thought I was nuts and then it got cold and I gave up. However I know I was very close. I'm the sort of person who NEEDS to understand, if I found it by crude luck that wouldn't be very satisfying for me.

Please can someone either tell me or point me to some instruction on the meaning of those mystery numbers?

Thanks in hope.....

Edited by lahoare

When the app said, "start looking", it's time to put the phone away, and do just that. ;)

The coordinates moving as you take each step will make you batty.

Civilian GPS at its best is only accurate +/- 10'.

"At its best" is kinda dependant on the cache owner having a perfect day when he hid it also.

That doesn't happen too often.

So when you're around 20' or so heading closer, is when you start to look around, and figure where you'd hide it.

Some helpful info might be grabbed from Geocaching 101, and the Help Center.

Have fun, good luck. :)