Which GPS model is right for me?

321izzy321

I am quite new to geocaching and would like a GPS. I think that I have decided to get a Garmin Etrex model. I am not sure I need any sophisicated features but wanted your opinion on which would be the best option and the best value for money (I have a very limited budget and would like to keep the cost as low as possible):

1) Etrex 10 at £70 (I think that I have pretty much discounted this one though) ($100)

2) Etrex 20 at £130 ($185)

3) Etrex 30 at £140 ($200)

4) Etrex 30x at £160 ($230)

I don't know if there is any reason to avoid older models, or any real reason (except features like Altimeter which I probably won't need) to get one model over another.

Any other fairly low cost options would be appreciated.

The eTrex 10 is extremely basic. It's good if you want to buy a few to teach orienteering classes with, but for personal use, I'm confident you'll outgrow it very quickly.

The eTrex 20 / 20x is much nicer with its color mapping screen and ability to expand memory with a micro SD card.

The eTrex 30 / 30x is pretty much the same as the 20 / 20x with the addition of the 3-axis compass and barometric altimeter. Ask yourself if you feel you need (or rather want) the compass, which gives you the ability to orient your direction on the GPS while standing still. With the 20 / 20x, you have to be moving to know your direction. Many people get along just fine without the compass and altimeter, while others enjoy having this feature. So decide which you prefer and make your decision from there.