Convert Co-ordinates

MathMMath

Hi guys, I am still fairly new to geo-caching and the idea of differnet co-ordinate systems has always puzzled me for some reason. So I was wondering could anyone explain in simple terms how to convert between co-ordinate systems?

For example, I found the co-ordinates of a mystery cache in the form Nxx°.xxxxxx, Wxxx°.xxxxxx (Which is apparently decimal degrees?) and I was wondering how I can change that into the form Nxx°xx.xxx', Wxxx°xx.xxx' which is how I input them into my app?

Sorry if this is a simple question and has been asked before but I couldn't seem to find it.

Edited by MathMMath

There's a Help Center article on this,

http://support.Groundspeak.com/index.php?pg=kb.page&id=207

There are 3 common systems

Decimal - base unit of degrees, and the remainder expressed as tenths, hundredths, thousands, ten thousands, etc, of a degree

Degree, Minute, Second - base unit of degree, then 1/60th of a degree = a minut, 1/60 of a minute = a second. Further divisions of parts of seconds are expressed in decimals (ie, tenths hundreds thousands of a second, NOT 60ths of a second;-) just to further complicate this system.

Degree, Minute, Decimal Minute (used as the default on Geocaching.com) Degrees, then Minutes (60th of a degree) then the remainder expressed in decimal parts of a Minute

I mention the possibility that you can alter the App defaults to simply accept Decimal Degrees.

Any gps can do this. I can't speak to any particular app.

I find it highly ironic that I have to give this advice to someone named MathMMath, but:

There are 60 minutes in a degree.

To convert decimal degrees to minutes, multiply the decimal bit by 60.

Example:

110.5984352 degrees

Multiply 0.5984352 by 60 = 35.906112

Round to the nearest thousandth: 110 degrees 35.906 minutes

[...] in the form Nxx°.xxxxxx, Wxxx°.xxxxxx (Which is apparently decimal degrees?)[...]