Massachusetts - or Any NE State - DOT Policies?

alanine

Hey, folks:

After saying "gee, I should try geocaching" for almost as long as the activity has existed, I finally got around to taking it up this summer. So I'm a newbie, but not completely clueless.

Having found a few dozen caches and informally "adopted" one, I'm getting ready to make my first hide in a local park. I picked a good spot, got the materials, and then called the town's parks department (Longmeadow, MA) for permission. The clerk had heard of geocaching, which was a relief, but her awareness seemed coincidental and didn't extend to the mechanics of cache placement. For example, she initially wanted to hand me off to the Public Works department because she thought I'd be digging a hole for this. Given that there are over a dozen caches already in town parks, it seemed odd that the parks department wasn't more aware of the activity. Of course I didn't say anything about the other caches, but it got me wondering about something.

When you can't find a written policy for the authority in charge of the public land where you want to hide a cache, do you bother tracking down explicit permission? Or is permission presumed for public hides in the absence of a known policy? The guidelines are pretty clear, but it seems actual practice may differ.