Sign in to follow this  
Followers 2
Manville Possum

Waymarkers Roll Call

40 posts in this topic

I live in South West Virginia near North East Tennessee. I started Waymarking in 2008 and most of my published Waymarks are within 30 miles of my home. My most visited Waymarks are in Cherokee, North Carolina where I visit the Great Smoky Moutains National Park a few times a year.

My Waymarking interests are History, old cemeterys, and veterans monuments. My least favorite are commerical listings and phone booths. :laughing:

My first passion would be benchmarks followed by railroad anything and cemeteries. By occupation, I am a family history researcher. The vast majority of my published waymarks are from travels outside of my home province of Ontario. I visit waymarks four times more often than I post waymarks. I enjoy many of the commercial categories. The phone booth square on my grid is still empty.

I live in Northwest Switzerland, about three kilometers from the French border and about six from Germany. These three countries are my primary Waymarking zone and about three of four of my waymarks are not more than 60 kilometers from home.

Other strong areas are the larger cities of the German speaking part of Switzerland, the northern part of the Italian speaking part of the country, the alpine regions in Grisons, Bern and Valais and a handful of waymarks in northwestern Greece. Wherever business, family or holidays lead me.

My favorite categories are Castles, Train Stations, City Halls, Covered Bridges, Monuments, Museums, and Nature and History in General. I just got my 500th post approved in the Austrian and Swiss National Heritage Sites category.

I absolutely do not like the commercial categories and the like, but the urge to fill the grid is stronger. :blink: