Wherigo Foundation: Forking Cartridges

Ranger Fox

As many of you are aware, my projects within the Wherigo Foundation revolve around the WF site, which hosts cartridges (we'd like this to replace Wherigo.com), and the Wherigo API, which acts as a bridge between the site and builder/player apps much as the geocaching API allows other services and the geocaching app to connect to that site. I have yet to discuss either project openly on this forum due to an old request from Groundspeak. While I will continue to follow this request as I discuss partnership possibilities with Groundspeak, I suppose I can ask the forum community about features I think would be nice to implement on the site. This is what this post is about. I would like the community's feedback on something. Your feedback will directly impact future development, or if such a feature is released at all.

Forking Cartridges

As a cartridge author, I occasionally get requests from people, asking if they could create their own versions of my play anywhere cartridges "Whack-A-Lackey", "Battleship", and "The Fox, Chicken, and Feed". In the programming world, when people clone code to make something different, it's called "forking" (more or less). (I will have to come up with a friendlier name. Suggestions are, of course, welcome.)