Permission to place a cache - Michigan Q

Guest Max Wedge

Guest Max Wedge

Seeing as a lot of people have placed caches in Michigan, I'm assuming that someone would know what the rules are for State Forests/State land/County Game areas, etc. or who to contact. Anyone know? (Go easy on me, I'm still a newbie).

Thanks,

MW

All three of my caches are in either State or National forest land along the North Country Trail and I havn't asked permission on any of them. I figure it's easier to be forgiven than get permission. Seriously I've never heard any instances of people getting flak over caches in Michigan but use common sense. Don't place any on Nat'l Parkland or designated Wilderness areas. If a park says stay on trails then don't head off to place a cache.

I think if people would use a little common sense in placing and maintaining their caches we would have very little trouble from authorities.

------------------

Rusty & Libby's Geocache Page

Guest Max Wedge

quote:
Originally posted by rusty:

All three of my caches are in either State or National forest land along the North Country Trail areas. If a park says stay on trails then don't head off to place a cache.

I was thinking of State forests mostly, and I was wondering if anyone had any problems or had heard of anything that outright banned it.

I was also considering approaching my sons' teacher who is teaching latitude/longitudes in class, and using a cache and the geocaching website as a teachers aide. (There is a beautiful abandoned orchard behind the school.)