Sign in to follow this  
Followers 2
sleepysnails

Sustainability in the Inner City?

Hello!

I'm an art Teacher in East Los Angeles and Have been taking students Geocaching for a number of years. But, I found myself slowing it down this year in particular. I think that the reason is I can't find a more effective way to do this? I can only take 4-5 kids out at a time. (There very few caches in the inner city and no real Geocaches in East Los Angeles or any that one would want to get after school hours!). So, I have taken kids over the weekend, one Saturday a month) to different places. We would talk about how GPS devices work and how it utilizes the satellite systems and how to read a topographical map. Also, I show them how the coordinate points work on a global map. I've gone the full gambit about doing trackales (They've all been muggled!)!We do the puzzles and multi-caches together. I've even set-up a separate 'student account' for the kids that they all share, so they can keep track of logs and go and find them on their own (they borrow one of my three Garmin GPS devices that I got for this club). But, here is my dilemma...