Getting "credit" for your own posted waymarks used in someone elses scavenger hunts

I have been Waymarking my hometown for several years, so I have posted waymarks all over the metropolitan area. I always "visit" my own waymark posts as soon as they are approved and published.

I see many of my own waymarks being chosen by others who create scavenger hunts near my hometown. Today I looked at a short scavenger hunt where seven of the ten waymarks were my own posted waymarks. This is my first attempt at scavenger hunting, so I went out and found the three waymarks posted by others.

To my disappointment when I joined the scavenger hunt, I do not get "credit" for my seven previously logged visits to my own waymarks. This is a huge disappointment to me. I have several reactions to this.

First: I would expect Groundspeak programmers to know how to match waymarks to the owners when the owners join any given hunt and give "credit" for their previous posting. After all, Groundspeak already monitors how many you have posted, how many you have found, and what the stats are on all of them.

Second: regardless of anyone's opinion about logging your own posts, I find it repelling to be forced to log a repeat visit to my own waymark. I would not be surprised if some of my waymarks are used in more than one hunt, so would I (or any other scavenger hunter) have to make repeat logs on the same waymark in order to log them if used in different scavenger hunts?