Asking for help

GCmonkey

Is it considered bad etiquette to ask for help on a cache? I have a few that I have been looking for, but cannot find. I don't know if this is because I am a beginner and not sure what I am looking for, but I just cannot find them. I didn't know how everyone goes about finding a cache and was just wondering. Thanks so much for all of your help!

Depends on the CO, I guess. Most will be happy to give you a nudge in the right direction, especially since you're new. They put it out there to be found, they want you to find it. Some would rather not (especially if the hide is fiendishly tricky and they get their kicks from stumping people), and some just never reply to their emails or have quit playing.

If you don't get any response from the CO, try contacting the most recent finders and see if they can offer a hint.

In either case it's not considered bad etiquettte, unless you make a habit of doing it all the time without putting some honest effort into finding it yourself.

Edited by Chief301

Is it considered bad etiquette to ask for help on a cache? I have a few that I have been looking for, but cannot find. I don't know if this is because I am a beginner and not sure what I am looking for, but I just cannot find them. I didn't know how everyone goes about finding a cache and was just wondering. Thanks so much for all of your help!

What I usually do is explain where I looked and ask if I was in the right place...generally requesting they don't actually tell me exactly where it is. Occasionally they'll just tell me where it is anyway, but usually they will tell me if I'm "warm" (i.e., looking in the right spot).

I am new to all of this but I was told that it was free to use but you need a GPS or a phone app but the app is ten dollars why is that?

If you already have a GPS device you don't need anything else....just print out the cache description from the website, punch in the coordinates and go.