Plan on placing item...

Phobos Anomaly

Im brand new to geocaching, just started less than a week ago and I've found 4 so far in the Denver metro area where I live. Its incredibly fun and seems very addictive!

I was wondering about placing items in caches. I have one small item which I would like to place in a suitable cache that I find however I have a specific destination in mind that I would like the item to end up and I'm curious what I would have to do to get it started. Is there a proper proceedure one should follow? thanks for your help!

~Phobos Anomaly

You could attach the item to a travel bug - a small metal tag with a unique tracking number.

Each travel bug has its own web page which records its travels through each geocache it visits.

On that web page you can specify a mission for that travel bug - this would probably fit with your goal described above :)

This travel bug FAQ should answer most of your questions - http://www.geocaching.com/track/travelbugfaq.aspx

You aren't addicted enough, if you haven't read enough...

Click on the links below and see if they don't match up to what you are describing.

What is a Travel Bug?

How to use a Travel Bug

There's lots to read (probably more than a week's worth) by clicking every link on the website that you can find. Sad to say, that some of the information is almost like it is hidden -- but it is there. Really, click every link that you come across.

I see what you have found to date are all micro-caches. Usually a traveler (Travel Bug) doesn't even fit into a micro.

Travel Bugs are fun and at the same time, frustrating. Some have many floating about because they are so fun. Others have none out because they are so frustrating.