"first-to-find" geocoin etiquette

White Buffalo 1959

Hi. I am fairly new to geocaching (about six months "at it" and about 150 "finds") and am preparing to place my first geocaches. I have seen listings offering a geocoin to the ftf: is it considered "ok" to retain ownership of this geocoin as the CO, or should this coin be "given" unregistered? I would prefer register this coin myself so I can continue monitoring its progress, if any, and make decisions regarding missions, etc. But do not want to seem discourteous.also, what are your thoughts on "collectible status"- list as "collectible" for the ftf, then change status to "non-collectible " if the ftf passes it on? Thanks for your replies.

Hi. I am fairly new to geocaching (about six months "at it" and about 150 "finds") and am preparing to place my first geocaches. I have seen listings offering a geocoin to the ftf: is it considered "ok" to retain ownership of this geocoin as the CO, or should this coin be "given" unregistered? I would prefer register this coin myself so I can continue monitoring its progress, if any, and make decisions regarding missions, etc. But do not want to seem discourteous.also, what are your thoughts on "collectible status"- list as "collectible" for the ftf, then change status to "non-collectible " if the ftf passes it on? Thanks for your replies.

Make it clear that it is an activated coin if it is, and the Drop should be logged (usually done once the cache is published). You don't have to have a "prize" at all, but I think it's a little tacky to post "Geocoin for FTF" when it's activated and meant to travel. It may even confuse people so much, they don't know what to do.