Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
k4gap

Types of APRS rigs

What type of APRS rig do you run? I am interested to know if anyone is using the same rig I plan on putting together. I want to run a Tinytrac3 along with a Kenwood 733a. Which GPS unit would anyone recommend to use with this particular outfit?

K4Gap

(Lurk Off)

Thought I'd respond with a question in the true Socratic method:

What units (Besides the Kenwood 733a) support APRS? HT and or portable?

I'm interested in learning this as it is one of the biggest drives for me to get my license.

BTW, it's everyone here's fault that I'm studying like a madman for the Tech, CW and General licenses. You should all be ashamed (pleased) of yourselves.

T.

Cadence (OddTodd and CheleBell)

FRS2,12GMRS22(WPXD965)

(Lurk On - temporarily!)

How about that fancy new Kenwood TM-D700A? It is a equipped to handle SSTV, GPS, APRRS, and it even will do DX cluster monitoring AND has the new Digital Code Squelch thingy that some repeaters are starting to switch to. We have a 2m repeater here in LA that is going to switch to this system entirely by the end of the year.

If you drop your keys into molten lava just let 'em go 'cause, man, they're gone.

I have both the Keywood D700A and the D7A(g) 2m/440 APRS capable rigs. They are VERY good rigs in my opinion. I have built trackers with other HTs, and mobiles, including the Alinco DR-135TP but, none come anywhere close to the Kenwoods for ease of use and features.

- EnterZone

Originally posted by Vacman:

How about that fancy new Kenwood TM-D700A?

QUOTE]

The D700 has been around for a while now. HI.

I've been using a TH-D7E for nearly a year now. It's the Hand Held 2M/70cm rg made by Kenwood.