Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Cadence

Questions about Bands and Freq.

I'm studying element 2 right now, and I was wondering if anyone had a good method of remembering the bands and what frequencies were available - math calculations, mnemonics?

I am more than willing to do some rote memorization, but if there was a handy method that could make it easier... I'd be much obliged for any answers.

Todd

I picked out the obvious stuff (50-50.1 and 144-144.1 are CW, for instance) and tried to force-feed what I could on the HF bands, and called it a day. There can't be more than a very few questions on these, and I figured I'd just count these as lost and compensate on the other questions.

Musta worked, since I did the same as you're planning to do: Elements 1, 2 and 3 all in one session.

Good luck!

-----

~ Boyd

N5CTI

"Never ask a man where he's from. If he's from Texas, he'll tell ya soon enough. If he ain't, don't embarrass him."

Remember 300. As in 300 million meters per second. This the metric speed of light.

300 over freq (MHz) = wavelength (Meters).

Mike.

Mike. Desert_Warrior (aka KD9KC).

El Paso, Texas.

Citizens of this land may own guns. Not to threaten their neighbors, but to ensure themselves of liberty and freedom.

They are not assault weapons anymore... they are HOMELAND DEFENSE WEAPONS!

I was going to make the same comment that Mike made... That's how I remembered (and sometimes still figure it out when someone is talking about a frequency and not a "band" per se...)

The frequency in MHz times the wavelength in meters is always going to give you something in the ballpark of 300.

For instance, if the frequency is 29.6 MHz, I know it can't be 20 meters because 20*29.6 = 592. It has to be 10 meters since 10*29.6 = 296 (or approx 300).