Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
trbvideopro

Ham Radio

I am a ham radio operator also.Have been for quite some time. My call sign is KD6RHC and

geocaching is quite similar to ham radio but no

hidden transmitter. This is called T-hunting were

you go in teams and try to find a hidden

transmitter.And yes you can use a GPS unit with

ham radio also and see were other ham operators

are that use APRS.

73 kd6rhc

Happy geocaching

I just got my first gps unit for my BD.

73 again and have a grat week.

Ted Benson Jr icon_smile.gificon_smile.gif

Short answer. NOTHING.

However, to expand upon that... Both require an electronic device to play. Both seem to dray players that seem to go out of their way for interesting things to do. Most hams enjoy chatting on the air while geocaching. There are about 8 new geocachers in the area, because they talked to me while I was geocaching, and it sounded like I was having fun. And this is one more reason why we use regular frequencies instead of declairing an unknown geocaching channel.

Mike. Desert_Warrior (aka KD9KC).

El Paso, Texas.

Citizens of this land may own guns. Not to threaten their neighbors, but to ensure themselves of liberty and freedom.

They are not assault weapons anymore... they are HOMELAND DEFENSE WEAPONS!

Nerds and electronic toys???

Dave_W6DPS

My two cents worth, refunds available on request. (US funds only)

quote:
Originally posted by Desert_Warrior:

Short answer. _NOTHING._

Well, to the extent that a GPS unit is a receiver, then all Geocachers are Short Wave Listeners (SWLs) as they are using a radio receiver to receive radio signals from the satellites.

Mind you, I did wonder why the poll only had one option. HI!

--... ...--

Morseman

quote:
Originally posted by Morseman:

Well, to the extent that a GPS unit is a receiver, then all Geocachers are Short Wave Listeners (SWLs) as they are using a radio receiver to receive radio signals from the satellites.

--... ...--

Morseman