Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
BajaTaco

HAM and GPS Newbie

Hello folks

I am a newbie at both HAM and GPS. I have always been able to get around just fine with my maps and a compass, but the GPS was a toy that I always wanted. I finally decided on the Meridian Platinum, and it is on it's way. As soon as I get it I will post some feedback on my buying experience, as I think I got a pretty good deal on the whole package.

On the HAM side of things, I managed to get a Yaesu FT-2600M mobile 2 meter for $109 otd. I also got a 5/8 wave whip for my truck, but I have a question regarding the coax:

I am planning on using RG-8 coax. Is it ok to buy this stuff at RadioShack? I am planning to make my own connections. Also, I am trying to figure out what length of cable I should use for my mobile installation. Should the length be based on the following?

(assuming 5/8 wave = 615 feet)

(assuming RG-8 cable velocity factor of 66%)

(assuming radio operation at 146 MHz)

Length = (615 x .66) /146

so, length would be 2.78'. Since that is too short, the length of the cable could be any even multiple of that number? So, could I use, say, a 11.12' (4 x 2.78') antenna cable?

Another item to consider - because my truck has a roof rack with a spare tire, Hi-Lift jack, axe, etc etc. I am going to put the antenna on the hood channel to use the hood (or bonnet as they say icon_wink.gif ) as a radiating surface for my transmissions. However, do I need to be concerned about the radiation exposure in the cab? Do I need to measure the RF in there to make sure it is safe?

Any help is appreciated. icon_smile.gif

Thanks

BAJATACO.COM

Vibram or BFG - getting there on rubber and seeing it all!

Why RG8? With such a short run, RG58 would be fine and much easier to work with. Cable length doesn't matter as long as your antenna is well matched. I assume you can't put the antenna on the roof of the cab (ideal spot) because of the rack. You don't need to be concerned about RF exposure.