Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
aronburn

I Want In

I want to get into HAM radio but its too expensive for me any sugustions?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: But when I became a man, I put away childish things.

Ham radio is, to me at least, a very good hobby. I started playing with radio when I was 8 years old. That was 39 years ago now. I got my first ham license in 1978. That is 24 years ago now.

Ham radio has allowed me to talk to my family and friends while deployed away in combat, has allowed me to make new friends as I travelled around the world, and has been a hobby that I could take and use just about anywhere, anytime, and in/under any condition. It has been there for me when I was ont in the world, and also when the only part of the world I could see was out the hospital window for weeks. It has consistantly given me the opportunity to learn things that have provided me with other opportunities, like great jobs. But I degress.

There are a multitude of ways to study for your ham license. One of the easiest is to go to the national club web page ( http://www.arrl.org ) and download/print the question pool for the class license you want. Some will tell you that memorizing the answers is cheating. Well, memorizing IS learning. Practical application comes later, but memorizing is OK by me. There are also some web pages where you can take a test on-line, just to see how you are doing. Finally, you will need to find a group or club giving exams. Actually, the hardest part of it all is waiting for your callsign after passing the test. Under the new rules, you can get on the air once you know your callsign, you do not have to have the paper license in your hand.