Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
manuelcasi

Handheld Ham Radios in Death Valley will they work?

Ok I am totally new to this Ham stuff so please be gentle. I have a few questions. First the background. We do a race called BadwaterIf you check it out you will see it is a 135 mile foot race across death valley in July. From 280 feet below sea level to Whitney Portals on Mt. Whitney (elev. 8360 feet). I give the back ground because I want to know if Ham radios will keep teams in communication with handheld units over such varying terrain and elevation? I know you guys can hear people around the world but I also have seen what seems to be Antennas big enough to pick up space shuttle communications. Can we do this with small units and what is the real penalty if a non ham license person uses the unit. Before you go crazy this is why. We will get two people to get the license and keep them with the radio but what if they are hurt? We have doctors on our team and physical therapist that are to busy to get the license but would need to be back up to call for help. That is all they would do. They are professionals no games would be played. Also the heat is over 110 Fahrenheit the whole time (maybe a little cooler as we go up). Does this matter. Thanks

www.ManuelCasillas.com

I lived and worked in the eastern sierras for a few years and once was driving into death valley while the race was occuring. If I remember right the local (Bishop, CA) radio club runs HAM communications during the race. Not sure if they run portable repeaters or run simplex relays or use local repeaters (Silver Peak?) but you would likely have difficulty running radio to radio simplex without bulky antennas as the peaks and valleys are pretty dramatic.