How do you guys handle high-traffic areas

Flying_German

Greetings Cachers.

I'm fairly new to geocaching and I am also a business traveller.

This puts me in the unique position of being able to not just cache in my home zone but everywhere in the country.

Mostly I'm in cities and my biggest problem as a beginner are not the ones that are hidden in the boondocks.

I was looking for a cache around the Jacksonville, FL airport but it was hidden right next to a well-frequented gas station.

So how do you act in this situation?

Casual (with the Blues Brothers Soundtrack playing on the iPod when Jake and Elwood sneak into the Palace Hotel Ballroom past all the cops)

or is it more like a wait for the right moment and be quick?

These days where everybody is completely paranoid about people that root around in shrubs and bushes, how not to draw too much attention?

Because sometimes not even after dark it's any easier, I think it would be even more suspicious.

Or is it more like this, that people are busy with their own tasks that they pay little to no attention to others at all?

Thanks for any (serious) advice on this matter, I couldn't find anything about Stealth Mode here.

Sometimes I use CITO as a cover. I just start filling a plastic bag with trash. When I spot the cache, it goes in the bag too. Then I take a break, sign the log, and get back to work. After I replace the cache and pick up some more trash, I throw the bag of trash in a garbage can as I leave.

Sometimes I make sure I know where the cache is (read the description, hint, and previous logs as necessary), and then just walk right up to the cache and grab it.

Sometimes, I just look like I'm really interested in whatever I think the cache is hidden on or near. This is especially appropriate for public art caches.

And a clipboard and orange safety vest can make you practically invisible.

The main thing is that you NOT act sneaky, like you're trying to hide something. Just go about your business.