Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
GisnLiz

Personal note to TB owner

Recommended Posts

I thought I was sending a note to a 6yr old boy tracking his TB but the note has come up on the page of cache I found it in. I can't seem to delete this - what did I do wrong? GisnLiz

Share this post


Link to post

I thought I was sending a note to a 6yr old boy tracking his TB but the note has come up on the page of cache I found it in. I can't seem to delete this - what did I do wrong? GisnLiz

If you're on the cache page and choose the "write note" option, it's a public note everyone on the cache page can read. If you want to contact the kid and send them a personal note, you should go to the trackable's page and click on the owner's name to go to their profile and choose the option to send a personal message instead.

Share this post


Link to post

And to delete the Note log you accidentally put on the cache page, just go back to where you see the note on the page, click underneath where it says, "Edit log", click on the red cross, then confirm you want to make the deletion... and it's gone.

 

MrsB

Share this post


Link to post

There's no general reason to be concerned about a personal note being posted on the TB page. You can speak to the owner privately if you want, of course, and others have describe how, but don't avoid using the log just because you think it's inappropriate for a personal remark. And before you delete your unintentional log, consider whether it is, in fact, a perfectly reasonable addition to the TB's history.

Share this post


Link to post

And to delete the Note log you accidentally put on the cache page, just go back to where you see the note on the page, click underneath where it says, "Edit log", click on the red cross, then confirm you want to make the deletion... and it's gone.

 

MrsB

I appreciate your reply, thankyou.

The note I thought was going to the boy tracking the TB is entered on the cache page under heading "Personal cache note", above the description of the cache - not where I logged finding the cache. There is no "edit log" under my note. I guess this page is presented by the cache owner.Do I need to try contact him/her for them to delete it?

Share this post


Link to post

And to delete the Note log you accidentally put on the cache page, just go back to where you see the note on the page, click underneath where it says, "Edit log", click on the red cross, then confirm you want to make the deletion... and it's gone.

 

MrsB

I appreciate your reply, thankyou.

The note I thought was going to the boy tracking the TB is entered on the cache page under heading "Personal cache note", above the description of the cache - not where I logged finding the cache. There is no "edit log" under my note. I guess this page is presented by the cache owner.Do I need to try contact him/her for them to delete it?

That is a space for you to write your own personal cache note. To eliminate it simply click on the field and you can delete the text.

Share this post


Link to post

And to delete the Note log you accidentally put on the cache page, just go back to where you see the note on the page, click underneath where it says, "Edit log", click on the red cross, then confirm you want to make the deletion... and it's gone.

 

MrsB

I appreciate your reply, thankyou.

The note I thought was going to the boy tracking the TB is entered on the cache page under heading "Personal cache note", above the description of the cache - not where I logged finding the cache. There is no "edit log" under my note. I guess this page is presented by the cache owner.Do I need to try contact him/her for them to delete it?

That is a space for you to write your own personal cache note. To eliminate it simply click on the field and you can delete the text.

 

Ahhhhhhh! OK lightbulb.gif ... You did a 'personal cache note', not a 'Write Note' log.

 

You can get rid of that as WRASTRO describes above. Don't worry - Personal Cache Notes are only visible to you, not to the cache owner or anyone else.

 

MrsB

Share this post


Link to post

And to delete the Note log you accidentally put on the cache page, just go back to where you see the note on the page, click underneath where it says, "Edit log", click on the red cross, then confirm you want to make the deletion... and it's gone.

 

MrsB

I appreciate your reply, thankyou.

The note I thought was going to the boy tracking the TB is entered on the cache page under heading "Personal cache note", above the description of the cache - not where I logged finding the cache. There is no "edit log" under my note. I guess this page is presented by the cache owner.Do I need to try contact him/her for them to delete it?

That is a space for you to write your own personal cache note. To eliminate it simply click on the field and you can delete the text.

 

Ahhhhhhh! OK lightbulb.gif ... You did a 'personal cache note', not a 'Write Note' log.

 

You can get rid of that as WRASTRO describes above. Don't worry - Personal Cache Notes are only visible to you, not to the cache owner or anyone else.

 

MrsB

Many thanks, have now deleted note. I was concerned it was on cache page open to view yet not relevant to the cache itself. all sorted now, thanks to all who replied, we're still learning the game!!

Share this post


Link to post

And to delete the Note log you accidentally put on the cache page, just go back to where you see the note on the page, click underneath where it says, "Edit log", click on the red cross, then confirm you want to make the deletion... and it's gone.

 

MrsB

I appreciate your reply, thankyou.

The note I thought was going to the boy tracking the TB is entered on the cache page under heading "Personal cache note", above the description of the cache - not where I logged finding the cache. There is no "edit log" under my note. I guess this page is presented by the cache owner.Do I need to try contact him/her for them to delete it?

That is a space for you to write your own personal cache note. To eliminate it simply click on the field and you can delete the text.

 

Ahhhhhhh! OK lightbulb.gif ... You did a 'personal cache note', not a 'Write Note' log.

 

You can get rid of that as WRASTRO describes above. Don't worry - Personal Cache Notes are only visible to you, not to the cache owner or anyone else.

 

MrsB

Many thanks, have now deleted note. I was concerned it was on cache page open to view yet not relevant to the cache itself. all sorted now, thanks to all who replied, we're still learning the game!!

It does feel good to be able to help fellow cachers when the opportunity arises. B) Have fun out there!

Share this post


Link to post

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

×
×
  • Create New...