help please with my downloading to GPS

ayrbrain

I have a new (last christmas) Garmin etrex 30

I have no problem putting co-ords onto it, but today I am having problems.

I select the caches I want to put on.click send to GPS it tells me it is on, then when I look on the GPS it tells me it isn't there

what on earth am I doing wrong?

I am no techie so in simple words please

also if I click on the cache again it tells me already on GPS! but it isn;t there

many thanks

Edited by ayrbrain

Not that it's a problem, but being a PM, you really should be using Pocket Queries. It seems a goodly number of folks have troubles with the "Send to GPS".

With PQ's you can load from 1 to 1,000 caches at a time (and it includes hints; all of the cache page info -- 'cept photos; plus last five logs). You can run up to five PQ's per day -- can you find 5,000 caches per day?

You are paying (PM) for that bennie, you really should be using it. You are stifling your caching and your GPSr by not using them.

Run the PQ (find link on your profile page), unzip the file, drag and drop into your unit, and go caching! Enter your field notes as you find them, plug it back in and upload the field notes. Go to field notes, make each into a full log (or, if you are so inclined to simply do TFTC or something like that -- just submit that) and one click submits each.

Hi,

It sounds like you've reached the units way-point limit, (1000 I think). Delete all way-points and start filling it up again. On the Etrex 30 I don't think you cat delete just some way-points, it's all or nothing. So if you want to keep any of them download them to Mapsource/Basecamp before deleting from the unit.

Regards Bernard