New guy headed to Hot Springs for the weekend

arklatexgeo

Greetings all!

New guy here from Shreveport, LA looking to get into this as a hobby for my kids. I have a lot of experience with high end GPS units...will be using my Trimble Juno 3B and ProXH set-up this weekend in Hot Springs, AR for a family outing on Lake Hamilton courtesy of my in-laws. The wife is an avid outdoorswoman (lived in Alaska for a long time) and will probably enjoy taking up a hobby such as this.

Soooooo...any suggestions for caches to find over the weekend would be great. I have already downloaded about 60 cache locations and converted them to ESRI shapefiles for upload to the Juno. I'll convert them to WPTs using TerraSync so we can navigate to them. We are staying right on Lake Hamilton although I have no idea exactly where our lodging is located.

I know I am a noob here so I'll say that a lot of you may think that my set-up is overkill, but I use this system for field data collection and GIS data logging. I figured that it could be used for a little fun too.

BTW...I am a GIS analyst and I make LOTS of maps. Converting these GPS points to shapefiles is simple to do. If anyone out there would like up-to-date maps of your cache finds or your cache locations for use in the field, let me know. We can map these things out on top of aerials or USGS topos. Depending on your GPS unit, we can probably export the map images to your GPS as well.

Edited by arklatexgeo

GC2QDRC

I have noticed this sort of coding on the caches. Is this some sort of shortened coordinate system or alternative geo-coding system?