Sign in to follow this  
Followers 1
RhondaG

EZ Way To Explain UTM vs. Lat/Lon?

Hello all,

I am new to geocaching and developing quite a love for it!

I was looking into becoming the Geocaching Merit Badge Councilor for my son's Boy Scout Troop. One of the things the kids have to do is be able to explain to me the difference between UTM vs. Latitude/Longitude and I am having a hard time finding a source that explains it in simple kid friendly terms or with a simple kid friendly analogy. And honestly I think I need it explained to me in more simple terms :)

Does anyone have a simple way to explain it to kids as young as 10?

Thanx in advance for any guidance.

When I explain the difference to scouts that just crossed over, I do the following.

I give them meter sticks with no markings on them. It is ONE METER, that's it. I have them measure the room with the meter stick.

Then I give them a meter stick with CM marking on it. Have them remeasure the room. They get a better measurement and more accurate reading that way.

I compare LAT/LONG and UTM that way. LAT/ LONG are GREAT for measuring and giving directions over a long distance. Flying, driving to another city or state, ocean voyages, etc. It will get you there.

UTM breaks it down into more digits and you can use it for precise coordinates. The UTM was developed by the military during WW1 to guide shelling and bombing targets. You would want very accurate coordinates for that! WE use UTM now as the math portion for GPS units. The unit translates it back to LAT/LONG for us to read.

Does that help?