Sign in to follow this  
Followers 21
Guest Anton

Any Ham Radio Operators Here?

3011 posts in this topic

Greetings,

I'm a ham radio operator with callsign N2RUD. If you're a ham please send a reply, and we'll end up with a list of hams using this site. Perhaps the site administrator will give us a separate forum, called "GPS & Ham Radio". If you like that idea, say so!

Please leave your name and callsign.

Anton

------------------

Anton Ninno, N2RUD

Syracuse, NY 13210

[This message has been edited by Anton (edited 03-10-2001).]

[This message has been edited by Anton (edited 03-12-2001).]

N5TPQ

Arlington, TX

(Paul Opitz)

KC5UGQ

Frederick, Maryland

(a '5' call because I got my ticket while living in Dallas, TX)

The first cache I found had been visited previously by a team of three hams in the Baltimore-DC area. Don't recall their calls, tho.

73!

-- Seamus

KB6PNT, Dave

Extreme N. California

Rick

WØYGH

Belton, Missouri

N1NIQ

FN31hj (Connecticut)

Chris

VE5DTO (Saskatchewan, Canada)

Creator of 'Sask-cache-one', Saskatchewan's first (and so far only) geocache.

KC7SXN

Kyle in Canfield, OH

------------------

I know nothing about Ham radio, and not much more about GPS, but could you tell this novice how Ham radio and GPS mesh? I thought Ham operators were folks who sat at their sets in their basements all night long talking to people in Borneo and such. GPS is an outdoor thing. So I'm not making the connection. Could someone enlighten me?

Paul. Check out this site for starters: www.aprs.net

APRS stands for Automatic Postion Reporting System

he possible FCC exam questions AND the answers. Really.

Doesn't get much easier than that!

One more thing... When you're out on a GPS stash hunt, you can use your ham radio to keep in touch with other ham-cachers. If you all have APRS, you'll also know exactly where everyone is located. Cool, eh? Eh!

Go here for information:

Amateur Radio Relay League

http://www.arrl.org

Hope this helps.

Anton