Permission for cache

nevyn1

I am new to geocaching and have noticed that there are several caches the state parks. Do you have to ask permission for each cache or is it okay because they already gave the nod to the ones that are there? I also noticed that there aren't any in the national parks in my area. Who do you ask permission from for these sites? Do to a cast on the leg I haven't been able to get out and am anxious to get started finding and have a few ideas for new caches.

The State Park just outside of town here has plenty of caches but they still require permission for every single one. There are some places in the park where caches are prohibited due to jurisdiction problems. Others areas are protected due to endangered species. Every park will be different. Talk to your reviewer and to the park managers.

So national parks are off limits unless they are are virtual caches. But I do see them in National forests. I will have to find the reviewer for my area.

National Forests and National Parks are two different entities.

NPS parent agency is the Department of Interior, USFS parent agency is the Department of Agriculture.

These agencies have differing objectives over the lands they control, so doctrines will differ.

Somewhat easy to do, but try not to confuse the two.

Edit: context

Edited by Gitchee-Gummee

So national parks are off limits unless they are are virtual caches. But I do see them in National forests. I will have to find the reviewer for my area.

There are physical caches in National Parks. You need to work with the park ranger to get permission to place a physical cache on NPS property. As you know virtual caches are no longer listed. Earthcaches require permission of the land manager. Some National Forest lands restrict caches, some don't. Again ask the ranger. A lot of the BLM managed land is available for caching, but some specifically prohibits caches. Again, ask the appropriate management office.