kind of a newbie question

tsnyder88

my dad is up in Montana for work and he is also doing some cacheing up there and i had to help him with the find he using my old gps and i had to tell him how to use it over the phone and then i helped with the find of the cache because the unit does not have paperless cacheing on it and what i was wondering is he signed the log book for me would it be ok if i logged the cache on line? or would that be frowned upon by the geocaching rules

i am not a newbie at geocaching i just have not had this come up before

Edited by tsnyder88

i know that several families in my area share one account.

Sharing an account is fine. If one of the members of that family/group/account found the cache, then the account found it. However, if it were separate accounts, I wouldn't do it. Think of it this way: Did that specific cacher name actually find the cache?

Personally, if I saw a log on one of my caches that said something along the lines of "I wasn't actually there, but someone signed for me", I'd delete the log and deal with any possible repercussions with appeals. I expect a finder to at least be within eyesight of the cache. It's fine if someone stands at the bottom of a slope while another signs the log, but not several states away or halfway around the world. That's just me, though.

I assume because you've asked the question here that you're thinking it may not be right. Do what you feel comfortable doing, but you've now seen my opinion on the matter.

I wouldn't do that, but there is nothing stopping you.

[RANT]

One of my pet peeves is 'team' accounts that split the team and log caches in disparate areas.

e.g. Husband goes and finds caches in the mountains, while the wife stays in town and logs caches there.

If you are going to be 'Team XYZ', then X, Y, and Z should each be present for every find registered/logged.

Otherwise, there should be separate accounts for X, Y, and Z.

[/RANT]