Is a handheld GPS a lot more accurate than using a smart phone?

johnnyfoundthespot

I am just getting started geocaching and was wondering if you get a much more accurate compass reading from a handheld GPS unit? I am using the c:geo app on my smart phone and the compass function seems a little erratic at times. I am thinking that a dedicated GPS unit like the Garmin eTrex 30 would get me closer to the loc when getting close. Is this correct? Does anyone have smart phone to GPS comparison experience? I don't want to spend money on a GPS unit if I don't have to. Thanks!

When getting close to a spot, maybe 20m or so the compass will send me in different directions. It does not consistently send me toward the same spot. How close should it direct me? I know there are a lot of variables, e.g., time of day and where the satellites are, etc., but if i move around with clear sky above shouldn't it point in the same direction? I am just thinking that a device that is dedicated to the purpose, (handheld GPS) will perform better than a device that does a bunch of things, (cell phone with an app). But you never know, an app may just as good. Just trying to find out.

You're quite right in your assumption. Note that there's quite a lot of variance between different phone models, and that it's the hardware that makes the difference, not the software on it.

A good handheld GPS, under normally good reception conditions, will consistently get you (at least) within 3-5 meters of the coordinates. The better units (and/or with exceptional reception) will perform even better than that, with 1-3 meters accuracy.

You're quite right in your assumption. Note that there's quite a lot of variance between different phone models, and that it's the hardware that makes the difference, not the software on it.