Twilight (book series) geocoins?

TheRoadWife

Hello everyone! I'm still pretty new at geocoins and I'm not even sure where to start looking for this item so I thought I would ask the experts :). I have a friend who is a MASSIVE twilight series fan and I recently took her geocaching and she loves it. I was really hoping I could get her some Twilight geocoins for christmas, but I don't know where to find them. I did a basic google search and I found pathtags, but I like the geocoins more! Can anyone point me in the right direction and prevent me from having to get the pathtags instead :(

Thanks in advance!

TheRoadWife

I do not know the ins and outs of the laws so take what I'm about to say with a pinch of salt, but as I understand it.

Pathtags = anything goes for whatever reason = no copyright issues (I have several of my own, some with my own artwork, some with borrowed)

Geocoins = all coins approved by GC.com = very few licenced /trademark coins, as you have to get permission to use and image or likeness

and without wanting to put anyone off side :laughing: this is one time I'm so very grateful :anibad:

probably the closest you'll find in a geocoin (others will correct me if I'm wrong,) would be the 2007 Halloween geocoins...best bet to find one would be to post in the geocoin trading post at the top of this page, or watch e-bay.

if you're hoping to have trackable coins made, post that, and I'm sure you'll get the directs to the geocoin manfacturer's Groundspeak approved.

ILYK

It makes sense that pathtags would offer a wider range of design subjects since it's soooooo much cheaper (10x) to make 100 pathtags than it is 100 geocoins.

Here's the coin Doc was referring to. Unfortunately, as you can imagine, this came out 4 years ago and has since sold out but you might be able to find one on the re-sale market or up for trade on the coin trading site(s) - hint, it sounds like Cointracking. :unsure:

PB300029.jpg

Edited by Droo