Immediate Pocket Query

beejay&esskay

OK, I'm new to pocket queries, so forgive me if this has been asked a hundred times...

But since I'm new, I'd like to see a result NOW. I understand that there is a system load issue, which is why they run at night...but could there be an option to ask for a certain number immediately?

Like one a week? Or 5 a month?

So now I'm clearly not understanding...

If I make a new query and schedule it to run on Friday (today), the system sees it, knows it didn't run on Friday, so runs it?

If that's true, if I edit a query scheduled to run today, does it run quickly...or it just with new names?

So would changing the name of a query scheduled for today cause it to run again?

And is this explained anywhere that I should have read before I asked you these questions?

quote:
Originally posted by beejay&esskay:

So now I'm clearly not understanding...

If I make a new query and schedule it to run on Friday (today), the system sees it, knows it didn't run on Friday, so runs it?

If that's true, if I edit a query scheduled to run today, does it run quickly...or it just with new names?

Nope, the system won't let you do an end-run on the queue. Only newly created queries go to the head of the class. Just changing the name, or some parameter won't make it "new".

Also, deleting a PQ doesn't immediately free up a spot to create a new PQ. If, for example, you've got 4 PQs, and you want output of #1 and #2 immediately. So you delete #1, and recreate it. Well, what you've actually done is create #5. The system won't free up the deleted spot until the next day. So now you're maxed out, and won't be able to recreate #2.

I have 3 PQs that run on various days of the week, which always gives me 2 reserves in case I need something returned quickly.

3608_2800.gif

"Don't mess with a geocacher. We know all the best places to hide a body."

I think this is still a valid request...and one I've desired for a while.