(GPS) I know what I want but I need your expertise!

Maglor64

I am pretty new to geocaching. I inherited a Garmin nuvi dashboard unit and thought I would give this hobby a try. I ended up loving it! However, I quickly figured out that the dashboard unit wasn't what I was looking for. SO I am trying to find a better unit for the hobby.

I have done quite a bit of reading of reviews, and have searched through some threads on the subject here, which has helped me figure out what features I want but has not helped me to narrow it down to an idea unit. Here is what I think I want in order of importance:

2. Great satellite reception without dropping the signal.
  3. Paperless geocaching
  4. Full street-maps for the US plus basic street maps for the rest of the world.
  5. Internal compass (so I know which way I'm facing without moving).
  6. Ability to add topographical maps.
  7. Long battery life (at least 15 hours).
  8. $250 - $350 price range

Right now I'm kind of drawn to the Garmin GPSMAP 62S: My link

It's at the top of my price range, which is okay, but I'm worried that it doesn't come with full US maps. Do I have that right? Would I have to buy maps at another $100 or so cost?

Another one that I have my eye on is the eTrex 20, which doesn't appear to be for sale yet. My link

Is there a more appropriate unit I should be considering? Are my expectations realistic at all?

Thanks for your help. :)

Edited by Maglor64

The 62s is a good s=choice and the eTrx 20 should also be a good choice. But if you happen to like the touch screen interface then look into the Oregon and Dakota units. Having a paperless unit will be good but its only helpful if you have a Premium membership. Without a PM you can't get the paperless data for the caches just the basic info.

Do any of these units mentioned come with full US maps in them?