Difficulty ratings

SimonG

I'm new to Geocaching, but from the caches I've seeked (er, sought) to date, there doesn't seem to be much consistency to the ratings. I did one rated 1.5 and one rated 2, both dead easy; one rated 1, much harder; and one rated 3, which was VERY hard (we almost gave up). I guess the problem is that different people have their own ideas how hard a cache is.

Here's my suggestion: instead of the difficulty ratings being decided by the person who places the cache, how about finders rate caches, and the average scores are displayed (kind of like at imdb)? Maybe then they would be more indicative.

I use the unofficial, official rating system found here. I also mention this on my cache pages and link to the rating page so hunters can see what to expect based on THAT system.

I have received one comment that a cache was rated too low for the terrain, but that person did not take the same path I intended for folks to use and based the rating on.

Greg

N 39° 54.705'

W 77° 33.137'

quote:
Originally posted by SimonG:

Here's my suggestion: instead of the difficulty ratings being decided by the person who places the cache, how about finders rate caches, and the average scores are displayed

I don't know about 'instead of', but I agree that your suggestion would make a great 'in addition to' the hider's rating.

And if you read through the following threads, you’ll see that several others think so, too:

User feedback on difficulty ratings

Terrain/Dificulty Rating

-------

"I may be slow, but at least I'm sweet!" 196939_800.jpg

Now we have the ability to log Co-ordinates when we find a cache then what the page needs is a I found this cache (1 easy - 5 Very Difficult)

optional field. Then this is displayed at the top of each log.

Then finders and owners can build up a concensus of difficulty.