"Adding" Coordinates

OhRedQueen

I am new to geocaching and have so far encountered two caches I was unable to find due to the puzzle. When it is a multicache where you have to solve for the coordinates for the final I am not sure how to go about it. For example, one says to add the "magic number" to the given coordinates. If the coords are N28 17.563 , which part of this number am I adding it too? I know this is a dumb question but I need serious help with this decimal nonsense.

Sincerely,

RQ

Hard to say without reading the actual cache page, but if something told me to add a number to the given coordinates I would use simple addition after stripping out the decimal points and spaces in the coords. If the coords are N28 17.563 and the "magic number" was 306 I'd do this:

+ 306

_______

Final coords are then N28 17.869

Not saying that is correct, but it is how several of my caches work and how I would interpret it if I saw it on another cache page.

I would handle the coordinates just like Brian noted above under usual conditions.

One thing you can do when looking for solutions of final cache coordinates is use Google Earth as your friend.

I have found a few puzzles / multis with help from GE. I look at the area the cache should be located in, perhaps a Wildlife Management Area, or park. You can use GE to see where the boundaries of the area are as far as coordinates are concerned. Take the base numbers you are working with and see what they look like in relation to the boundary coordinates of the area.