Editing a post

Markwell

WHAT?!?

quote:
This forum only allows posts to be edited within 60 minutes of the post.

I understand Kerry's problem with the login and old posts being inherited, but most of the time I notice poor spelling after I've gone away from the forums and returned to them.

I guess I'll have to write all my posts in word (with the tilted apostrophe and smart quotes off) before posting here.

Markwell

Non omnes vagi perditi sunt

quote:
Originally posted by Markwell:

WHAT?!?

This is easy to adjust. Is there a value you think is more reasonable? I'm still learning all the options with the new forums and this is certainly something that can be tweeked.

-Elias

Elias,

Thanks for being willing to discuss this item. I would personally like to request that edits/deletes of posts by their creators be implemented as it was in the old forums; no limit at all.

I can't think of a valid reason to prevent the creator of a post from being allowed to edit their content, or even delete the post. I'm very willing to hear reasons you may wish to do this, but at present my request is for no time limit at all.

Thanks for your work on the forums!

Member:

banner-small.gif

quote:
Originally posted by Team CacheCows of Wisconsin:

I would personally like to request that edits/deletes of posts by their creators be implemented as it was in the old forums; no limit at all.

I second that! Besides the reasons listed above, in some cases (like this one, for example), it's handy for future readers if I can update the first post to include the information shared by people along the way...it summarizes the information, and saves people from having to scroll through the entire thread to glean the information they're looking for.

quote:
Originally posted by Elias:

This is easy to adjust. Is there a value you think is more reasonable? I'm still learning all the options with the new forums and this is certainly something that can be tweeked.

-Elias

Elias,